Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Book Review: Written in Fire, by Marcus Sakey @MarcusSakey

Written in Fire by Marcus Sakey book cover and review
Written in Fire is the exciting conclusion to the Brilliance trilogy. These books have all been thrilling and are hard to put down.

The premise is that about 30 years ago certain people contracted a virus that gave them special powers. Everyone's powers are somewhat different, and they are genetic so can be passed onto their children.

The world has become a very dangerous and distrustful place. The authorities are wanting all "Brilliants" to have a chip implanted to identify them. The Brilliants have a stronghold and want to secede from the United States and govern themselves. The tensions just keep ramping up and in Written in Fire everything comes to a head and the stakes are very high. We have all the same characters from the previous two books -- good guys and bad ones (and some you can't really decide about.)

Sakey does a good job of reminding those of us who may have forgot some of the details of the previous books. The pace is nonstop, and the ending is very dramatic.

You definitely want to read the books in order. Brilliance is the first one and A Better World is next. Written in Fire is supposed to be the last book, and in the author's notes he says it is. But he sure left an opening to continue the story. The Brilliance stories are great adult books that are totally accessible to teens. And Brilliance, the movie, is in development!

Published by Thomas & Mercer, January 12, 2016
eARC obtained from NetGalley
345 pages

Rating: 4/5

Back to Annette's Book Spot Homepage Copyright © 2016 Annette's Book Spot. All Rights Reserved

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like an X-Men feel, and I have enjoyed Marcus S books in the past, I will have to try this series. I just noticed them in Netgalley but hadn't heard any feedback. Thanks Annette


Thanks for visiting! I LOVE comments!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...